Skip to main content

Board of Directors and Committees

Our Board of Directors sets the business objectives and oversees their implementation. To this end, it calls on Committees in charge of studying the questions submitted by the Board or its chairman for examination and advice.
Board of Directors

Role and composition of the Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is made of 15 members that each serve 4-year terms, including 2 employee directors and 1 director representing employee shareholders. It comprises 53% of women (58% without taking into account the employee directors and employee shareholders director in accordance with the recommendations of the AFEP-MEDEF Code) and 40% of directors of foreign nationality.

Under the criteria of the AFEP-MEDEF code, 7 directors are qualified as independent by the Board, i.e. 58% of its members, without taking into account the directors and the employee shareholders director in accordance with the recommendations of the AFEP-MEDEF code.

Activity of the Board of Directors in 2019

In 2019, the Board met nine times (excluding the Directors’ strategy seminar mentioned below), with an attendance rate of 90.8% (91.5% in 2018).


They mainly dealt with subjects such as safety and security results, business reviews, the financial position and results (review of the annual, half-year and quarterly results, and analysis of earnings forecasts), the Group’s financing position (debts, available cash, bond issue), the renewal of the share buyback program, governance (change of the composition of the Board of Directors its and Committees and evaluation of the organization and functioning of the Board, its Committees and the Directors’ individual contributions), and reviewing the anti-corruption and vigilance plan. The Board’s work in 2019 was also marked by monitoring preparations for the new “Shaping SUEZ 2030” strategic plan and related communications. In addition, the Board paid particular attention to topics related to compensation and especially reviewing the compensation policy of the new Chief Executive Officer, whose long-term compensation has been defined against objectives in the strategic plan.


The Board has also monitored the succession process for the Chairman of the Board of Directors whose term of office expired at the end of the Shareholders’ Meeting on May 12, 2020. It thus indicated that Philippe Varin is to be appointed Chairman at the end of said Shareholders’ Meeting, subject to his appointment as Director.


The Board also reappointed the Chief Executive Officer’s annual ization to issue endorsements and guarantees, and approved guarantee projects. The Board has carried out the annual assessment to ensure that agreements relating to current operations and entered into on normal terms and conditions continue to meet these conditions. Lastly, it regularly reviewed the work of its various Committees.


The Directors also held a meeting without the Chief Executive Officer and Company management in attendance when reviewing the “Shaping SUEZ 2030” strategic plan.

Composition of the Board of Directors

Update October 28th, 2020

Philippe Varin

Philippe Varin

Chairman of the Board of Directors of SUEZ
Read more
Bertrand Camus_SUEZ

Bertrand Camus

Chief Executive Officer of SUEZ and Director
Read more
Enric Amiguet I Rovira-Director elected by employees

Enric Amiguet I Rovira

Director elected by employees
Read more
Bruel Franck

Franck Bruel

Director. Executive Vice President, supervising UK and LATAM (Latin America)...
Read more
Miriem Bensalah Chaqroun-Independent Director- CEO of Eaux Minérales d’Oulmes

Miriem Bensalah Chaqroun

Independent Director. Vice-Chairwoman – Chief Executive Officer of Eaux...
Read more
Agatta Constantini-Employee director

Agatta Constantini

Director elected by the employees
Read more
Martha Crawford

Martha Crawford

Independant Director
Read more
Delphine Ernotte Cunci-Independent director-Chairwoman of France Télévisions

Delphine Ernotte Cunci

Independent Director. Chairwoman of France Télévisions
Read more
Judith Hartmann-Director-Deputy CEO and Chief Financial Officer of ENGIE

Judith Hartmann

Director. Deputy CEO of ENGIE, Chief Financial Officer
Read more
Isabelle Kocher-Director-Chief Executive Officer of ENGIE

Isabelle Kocher

Read more
Anne lauvergeon-Independent director-Chairwoman of ALP SA

Anne Lauvergeon

Independent Director. Chairwoman and Chief Executive Officer of ALP SA
Read more

Bertrand Meunier

Independant Director. Chairman of the Board of Directors of Atos

Jacques Richier

Independant Director. Chairman and CEO of Allianz France
Taittinger Brigitte

Brigitte Taittinger-Jouyet

Independant Director
Read more
Guillaume Thivolle-Employee shareholder-Director

Guillaume Thivolle

Director representing employee shareholders
Read more
The Board’s Committees

Role and composition of the Committees

The Board of Directors is supported by four Committees: the Audit and Financial Statements Committee, the Appointments, Compensation and Governance Committee, the Strategy Committee and the CSR, Innovation, Ethics, Water and Sustainable Planet Committee.

Top search words